Så tenner vi et lys i kveld, vi tenner det for glede

Today is the first Sunday of advent. It is getting colder and colder in Norway, and people are getting ready for Christmas. In Uganda the temperature is rising, and apart from the four candles Hanna and I have placed as an ”adventkrans”, there is not much reminding of Christmas.

For many families worldwide there is a tradition of lighting one candle each Sunday in preparation for Christmas. Many Norwegian families, including my lovely family, has a tradition of lighting a candle while saying the famous words of Inger Hagerup about advent, one verse every Sunday.

Today’s verse is about joy. We light a candle for joy, and I think of all the joy I have in my life. I have so much to be thankful for, and the Christmas season is a good time to take a break to think and reflect.

Christmas is often a time with stress regarding cooking food, baking Christmas cookies, cleaning and getting the perfect gifts. That is not what truly matters. The love and care we have for each other is what should be in focus. Therefore, I would like to take this opportunity to encourage us all to really spend time with friends and family, and to realize how lucky we are. Also, I would like to propose that instead of stressing about finding the perfect gift for someone who has everything – make a card, bake some cookies or/and check out this website: gaver som forandrer verden. These are gifts that make a difference.

I wish you all good luck with your Christmas preparations, and a wonderful advent time. The most important thing one can do during Christmas is to show love, and give of your time.

Så tenner vi et lys i kveld, vi tenner det for glede
. Det står og skinner for seg selv og oss som er tilstede
. Så tenner vi et lys i kveld, vi tenner det for glede.

1 thought on “Så tenner vi et lys i kveld, vi tenner det for glede

  1. It’s so beautiful what you write about the first Advent Sunday. I close my eyes and imagine I can see that you and Hanna are lightening the first candle for joy.
    I’s very strange that we are so far from each other this day – you in Uganda, Margrethe in Festus, Bente and I in Dubai – and finally Gunnar and Tessa at home. Love you.

Leave a comment